American Cancer Society Honors Volunteers with the Distinguished St. George National Award

Today the American Cancer Society honors volunteers with the 2019 American Cancer Society St. George National Award, given to outstanding community volunteers in recognition of their distinguished service to the American Cancer Society (ACS). This year, there are 12 awards being presented nationally. Recipients were chosen based on their continuous leadership, commitment, and dedication to impact the ACS mission.

Since its conception in 1949 by Dr. Charles S. Cameron, former ACS medical and scientific director, the St. George National Award has been presented annually to ACS volunteers nationwide. Nominees must have served as a leader in the community, mission delivery, and/or governance, in more than one area of focus for a minimum of four continuous years, and must represent ACS in a manner that advances the cause and expands community presence. The St. George National Award Workgroup carefully reviews all nominations and shares the award winners with the ACS Board of Directors.

This year's recipients include:

North Region

- Warner Baxter Saint Louis, Missouri
- Deb Krause Mound, Minnesota

Northeast Region

- Mark A. Goldberg, MD Needham, Massachusetts
- Joseph Gillette Brooklyn, New York

North Central Region

- Ray G. Young Chicago, Illinois
- Rich Crepage, ED.D Concord Township, Ohio

South Region

- Susan H. Waldrop, CFRE Birmingham, Alabama
- Krista Lee Elgin, Texas

Southeast Region

- Susan T. Vadaparampil, PhD, MPH Tampa, Florida
- Phyllis Baum Leesburg, Florida

West Region

- P. Kay Coleman Encinitas, California
- Jose Ramos San Ramon, California

To learn more about the American Cancer Society awards programs, visit <u>cancer.org</u> .					