## American Cancer Society Welcomes New Member to Board of Directors

**ATLANTA - April 26, 2018 -** Margaret McCaffery has been elected as the newest member of the American Cancer Society Board of Directors. Her term began on April 18, 2018.

McCaffery devotes her life to advocating for cancer patients. She and her husband, University of lowa head basketball coach Fran McCaffery, have been actively involved with Coaches vs. Cancer, raising more than \$1.3 million since 2010 to support the American Cancer Society. McCaffery continues to serve as a member of the American Cancer Society's National Survivorship Roundtable, where she contributes her vision to the importance of helping survivors thrive after cancer.

"Margaret's commitment and passion for cancer patients brings a unique perspective to our outstanding Board," said Kevin J. Cullen, MD, chair of the Board. "Her dedication and influence in motivating individuals to take action in the fight against cancer will be an asset to the Board.

In 2014, McCaffery and her husband turned their family struggle with cancer into an open and ardent fight. When their 13-year old son Patrick was diagnosed with a cancerous tumor, the McCafferys shared their grief, fear, and struggle with basketball fans, and the world. They directed contributions to the American Cancer Society and Coaches vs. Cancer, and many fundraisers started spontaneously to fund cancer research.

The American Cancer Society Board of Directors consists of 21 members, which includes five officers and 16 directors.

## The 2018 American Cancer Society Board of Directors:

## **Officers**

Kevin J. Cullen, MD - Chair Daniel P. Heist, CPA - Vice Chair Carmen E. Guerra, MD, MSCE, FACP - Board Scientific Officer John Alfonso, CPA, CGMA - Secretary/Treasurer Arnold M. Baskies, MD, FACS - Immediate Past Chair

## **Directors**

Joseph A. Agresta, Jr. Bruce N. Barron Edward J. Benz, MD, FACP Jennifer R. Crozier Gareth T. Joyce Jeffrey L. Kean Amit Kumar, PhD Jorge Luis Lopez, Esq. Brian A. Marlow, CFA Michael T. Marquardt Margaret McCaffery Scarlott K. Mueller, MPH, RN Ioseph M. Navlor William D. Novelli Gregory L. Pemberton, Esq. Gary Shedlin