Press Releases

American Cancer Society Honors Volunteers with the Distinguished St. George National Award
Aug 6, 2019

Today the American Cancer Society honors volunteers with the 2019 American Cancer Society St. George National Award, given to outstanding community volunteers in recognition of their distinguished service to the American Cancer Society (ACS). This year, there are 12 awards being presented nationally. Recipients were chosen based on their continuous leadership, commitment, and dedication to impact the ACS mission.  

Since its conception in 1949 by Dr. Charles S. Cameron, former ACS medical and scientific director, the St. George National Award has been presented annually to ACS volunteers nationwide. Nominees must have served as a leader in the community, mission delivery, and/or governance, in more than one area of focus for a minimum of four continuous years, and must represent ACS in a manner that advances the cause and expands community presence. The St. George National Award Workgroup carefully reviews all nominations and shares the award winners with the ACS Board of Directors.  

This year’s recipients include:

North Region 

  • Warner Baxter – Saint Louis, Missouri 
  • Deb Krause – Mound, Minnesota 


Northeast Region 

  • Mark A. Goldberg, MD – Needham, Massachusetts 
  • Joseph Gillette – Brooklyn, New York


North Central Region

  • Ray G. Young – Chicago, Illinois 
  • Rich Crepage, ED.D – Concord Township, Ohio 


South Region

  • Susan H. Waldrop, CFRE – Birmingham, Alabama 
  • Krista Lee – Elgin, Texas


Southeast Region

  • Susan T. Vadaparampil, PhD, MPH – Tampa, Florida 
  • Phyllis Baum – Leesburg, Florida 


West Region 

  • P. Kay Coleman – Encinitas, California 
  • Jose Ramos – San Ramon, California 


To learn more about the American Cancer Society awards programs, visit