American Cancer Society Honors Volunteers with the Distinguished St. George National Award

ATLANTA - March 11, 2022 - Today the American Cancer Society honors volunteers with the 2021 American Cancer Society St. George National Award, given to outstanding community volunteers in recognition of their distinguished service to the American Cancer Society (ACS). This year, there are 13 awards being presented nationally. Recipients were chosen based on their continuous leadership, commitment, and dedication to impact the ACS mission.

Since it's conception in 1949 by Dr. Charles S. Cameron, former ACS medical and scientific director, the St. George National Award has been presented annually to ACS volunteers nationwide. Nominees must have served as a leader in the community, mission delivery, and/or governance, in more than one area of focus for a minimum of four continuous years and must represent ACS in a manner that advances the cause and expands community presence.

This year's recipients include:

North Region

DeeJo Miller - Gardner, KS

Margaret McCaffery - North Liberty, IA

Northeast Region

Jeanne Walsh - Schenectady, NY

Fran Dunphy - Villanova, PA

Phil Martelli - Media, PA

North Central Region

Kristopher Kipp – Marysville, OH

C. Thomas Evans, Jr. - Chicago, IL

South Region

April Dumond - Maumelle, AR

Warner Huh, MD – Birmingham, AL

Southeast Region

Jeffery Steilen - Alpharetta, GA

Rita Lowman – Tampa, FL

West Region

Jeffrey Kean - Pasadena, CA

Lori Greenstein Bremner – Sonoma, CA

#

Additional assets available online: Photos (1)