Press Releases

The American Cancer Society Awards the 2024 Medal of Honor to Dana-Farber’s Dr. Pasi Jänne
Jan 4, 2024

ATLANTA, January 4, 2024 — Today, the American Cancer Society (ACS) is proud to award the 2024 Medal of Honor to Dr. Pasi A. Jänne of Dana-Farber Cancer Institute. The Medal of Honor is the American Cancer Society’s most prestigious award bestowed to distinguished individuals or foundations who have made valuable contributions in the categories of basic research, cancer control, clinical research and philanthropy.

As professor at Harvard Medical School and Director, Lowe Center for Thoracic Oncology, Dr. Jänne’s achievements in translational and clinical research have fundamentally altered the treatment of lung cancer. He was one of the co-discoverers of epidermal growth factor receptor (EGFR) mutations and has led the development of therapeutic strategies for patients with EGFR-mutant lung cancer.

“In addition to Dr. Jänne’s steadfast commitment to developing more precise and durable therapies for patients with lung cancer, it is his visionary thinking, collaborative mindset, dedication to mentoring, and strong leadership in oncology that earned him this recognition,” said Dr. William Dahut, Chief Scientific Officer, American Cancer Society.

“The American Cancer Society has a long-standing history of supporting some of the most proficient cancer researchers in the world, so to be part of that group of people is an honor,” said Dr. Jänne. “While we have made significant progress in lung cancer research, we owe it to patients, survivors, and their caregivers to further research and advance ACS’s mission of saving more lives.”

Dr. Jänne received his medical degree and doctorate from the University of Pennsylvania in 1996. He completed postgraduate training in internal medicine at Brigham and Women's Hospital and in medical oncology at Dana-Farber in 2001. He is the Scientific Director of the Belfer Center for Applied Cancer Science.

Originally called the American Cancer Society Award, the Medal of Honor was first presented in 1949. Candidates for the Medal of Honor are nominated by the scientific community and the ACS Board of Directors.

Dr. Jänne will be celebrated at the 2023 Medal of Honor Ceremony on Saturday, Jan. 6, 2024, in Washington, D.C.

The last ACS Medal of Honor, awarded in 2020, was given to Lewis C. Cantley, Ph.D., for Basic Research; Leslie Bernstein, Ph.D., M.S., for Cancer Control; and Ching-Hon Pui, M.D., for Clinical Research. Previous recipients of the Medal of Honor also include George N. Papanicolau, M.D., inventor of the Pap test; Robert C. Gallo, M.D., recognized for his achievements in pioneering the field of human retrovirology; Judah Folkman, M.D., a leading researcher in the field of antiangiogenesis; and advice columnists Ann Landers and Abigail Van Buren.

# # #

About the American Cancer Society
The American Cancer Society is a leading cancer-fighting organization with a vision to end cancer as we know it, for everyone. For more than 100 years, we have been improving the lives of people with cancer and their families as the only organization combating cancer through advocacy, research, and patient support. We are committed to ensuring everyone has an opportunity to prevent, detect, treat, and survive cancer. To learn more, visit or call our 24/7 helpline at 1-800-227-2345. Connect with us on FacebookTwitter, and Instagram.


For further information: American Cancer Society, Aleesia Forni,